View online version

McGill University - Faculty of Dentistry
Your news at the heart of your Faculty of Dentistry / Issue 85 / May 31st, 2017

Congratulations to all 2017 graduates! 

Student Awards


Iain Hart, Michael Bybelezer, Nabitha Kanagaratnam, Erika Williston

Iain Hart

DR. A.W. THORNTON MEDAL, highest overall standing in the four years of the undergraduate program

*PIERRE FAUCHARD ACADEMY’S SENIOR STUDENT AWARD OF RECOGNITION, for excellence in the academic and clinical aspects of the DMD program

*CANADIAN ACADEMY OF RESTORATIVE DENTISTRY AND PROSTHODONTICS SCHOLAR AWARD, highest standing in the disciplines of both Operative and Prosthodontics

DR. MARVIN AND MANDY WERBITT AWARD IN PERIODONTICS, outstanding personal initiative and a strong academic standing throughout the four year undergraduate program

PRIX D’EXCELLENCE JEAN ROBERT VINCENT, exceptional commitment to geriatric dentistry

*AMERICAN ACADEMY OF PERIODONTOLOGY STUDENT AWARD, highest level of academic and clinical achievement related to Periodontics

*AMERICAN ACADEMY OF ORAL AND MAXILLOFACIAL RADIOLOGY AWARD, special interest and accomplishment in oral and maxillofacial radiology

Nabitha Kanagaratnam

DR. A.L. WALSH PRIZE, meritorious achievement in oral medicine throughout the clinical years

McGill ALUMNAE SOCIETY PRIZE, excellence and high academic standing  

Nicole van der Wal

PRIX MICHELINE-BLAIN – ACDQ PRIZE, serving the interests of colleagues throughout the university years

*AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF PUBLIC HEALTH DENTISTRY AWARD, special interest and achievement in community dentistry and dental public health

Allison Chaytor

DR. SOO KIM LAN PRIZE IN DENTISTRY, outstanding graduating student who is entering a Residency Program

Marjorie Bastien

*CANADIAN ACADEMY OF PERIODONTOLOGY AWARD OF EXCELLENCE, outstanding in the field of periodontology

Zhan Yu Fang

*AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF ORTHODONTISTS AWARD, exceptional interest in the development of the oro-facial complex

*AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PROSTHODONTISTS PREDOCTORAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD, awarded to an outstanding graduating student for excellence in prosthodontics

Harshdeep Mangat

*ACADEMY OF GENERAL DENTISTRY’S SENIOR DENTAL STUDENT AWARD, academic scholastic balance between clinical and didactic basis courses of study and outstanding attributes conducive to exceptionally fine doctor-patient relationships

Yang (Kevin) Wu

Matthew Venditelli

*AMERICAN DENTAL SOCIETY OF ANESTHESIOLOGY’S HORACE WELLS SENIOR STUDENT AWARD, awarded for proficiency in the field of dental anesthesiology excellence in the academic and clinical aspects of the DMD program‚Äč



Anya Andre, Allison Chaytor, Zhan Fang, Zaher Jabbour, Ivy Lin, Lisa Kandella, Harshdeep Mangat, Nicole van der Wal, Yang Wu, Howard Yoon

Michael Bybelezer

DR. W.G. LEAHY PRIZE, meritorious achievement in clinical dentistry throughout the clinical years



DR. A. GERALD RACEY PRIZE, excellence in oral and maxillofacial surgery

*CANADIAN ACADEMY OF PEDIATRIC DENTISTRY DR. NORMAN LEVINE UNDERGRADUATE DENTAL STUDENT AWARD, aptitude and passion for the field of pediatric dentistry and dentistry for persons with special needs

*DR. ANDRÉ CHAREST PRIZE, highest standing in oral and maxillofacial surgery

*AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF ORAL AND MAXILLOFACIAL SURGEONS DENTAL STUDENT AWARD, outstanding performance in undergraduate study and clinical training in the area of oral and maxillofacial surgery and anesthesiology

Erika Williston

DR. JAMES McCUTCHEON MEDAL, outstanding qualities of leadership, scholarship and professional achievement throughout the four years

DR. PAUL A. MARCHAND and MAURINE McNEIL MARCHAND PRIZE, highest degree of professionalism in patient management

Arij Kazmi

CANADIAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION STUDENT LEADERSHIP AWARD, outstanding qualities of leadership, scholarship, character and humanity

Teodora (Ina) Ionescu

*AMERICAN ACADEMY OF PEDIATRIC DENTISTRY AWARD, most promise in pediatric dentistry

Jacynthe Desjardins

*PRIX DE L’ACADÉMIE DENTAIRE DU QUÉBEC – PRIX DE PROFESSIONNALISME, outstanding qualities of respect for others, compassion and dedication and initiative in providing oral health care to the community

Ivy Lin

*AMERICAN COLLEGE OF DENTISTS - OUTSTANDING STUDENT LEADER AWARD, outstanding scholastic performance and demonstrated leadership

Iman Yazdanbod

*THE 3M ORAL CARE STUDENT CLINICAL AWARD, excellence and superior aptitude in the use of conservative restorative materials in the final year of the clinical undergraduate program

Cléo Beaulieu

*AMERICAN ACADEMY OF IMPLANT DENTISTRY UNDERGRADUATE DENTAL STUDENT AWARD, awarded for the most interest, academically and clinically, in implant dentistry


* Awards given by various associations and not official McGill University awards.

Graduate & Teaching Awards

DR. SUSAN GREENWALD (Teaching Award)

W.W. WOOD AWARD, excellence in Dental Education

(Teaching Award)

*AMERICAN ACADEMY OF PERIODONTOLOGY OUTSTANDING TEACHING AND MENTORING IN PERIODONTICS AWARD, commitment to excellence in providing education in the full scope of clinical periodontics, and relaying that enthusiasm to students


(Teaching Award)

THE HOWARD S. KATZ EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING AWARD, superior teaching at the undergraduate level in the Faculty of Dentistry

(Graduate Award)

SHAHROKH ESFANDIARI GRADUATE AWARD, awarded for social equity, diversity and community service

Graduate Students


Mohamed Nur Abdallah

“Percutaneous medical devices”

Xixi Wu

“Pharmacological risk assessment for dental implants”



Michelle Berkvens

“Use of CT images to study craniofacial development and estimate age on the basis of dentition”

Mahta Hosseinkhtani Hazaveh

“What does it mean to live with orofacial pain? an interpretive phenomenological exploration”

Sophie Maillard

“Pre-vascularization of implanted 3D-printed constructs «In vivo»”

2017 DMD Graduates

Jordan Albino

Anya Andre

Yasmin Azam-Bakhtiar

Marjorie Bastien

Cléo Beaulieu

Hocine Benbella

Michael Bybelezer

Allison Chaytor

Jacynthe Desjardins

Zhan Yu Fang

Jaspreet Grewal

Iain Hart

Billy Huang

Ina Ionescu 

Zaher Jabbour

Maher Kamaneh

Nabitha Kanagaratnam

Lisa Kandella

Arij Kazmi


Dustin Kennedy

Aramie Kim

Ivy Lin

Robert Liu

Jodeci Malixi

Harshdeep Mangat

Ola Maria

Anael Muyal

Woo Jin Park

Jeff Phan

Arezou Roufegari Nejad

Yi Ming Shen

Nicole van der Wal

Matthew Venditelli

Erika Williston

Kevin Wu

Iman Yazdanbod

Jacqueline Yip

Howard Yoon

Congratulations 2017 graduates!

Want to contribute an item to the Dentistry E-flash? Please send it via our online form.
The due date for submissions to the next e-flash is Tuesday, June 12th at 5pm.

McGill University - Faculty of Dentistry


This message was sent to you by Faculty of Dentistry, McGill University

2001 rue McGill College Avenue, Suite 500
Montreal (Quebec) Canada H3A 1G1

You can change your communication preferences or unsubscribe from future mailings